Today We Remember

It is amazing how fast time flies and how many things we tend to forget, but today is a day of importance for runners all across the US and in a very special way for us here at Run for the Call.

BostonStrongRibbonAs you probably have already seen in many places on Facebook and Twitter, today marks the memorial of the bombing of the Boston Marathon just one year ago. It was a sad and frightening day that quickly turned into a moment of inspiration. Like the moment of that long run when you think you just can’t go any farther, and then you do, this moment only made the running world that much stronger. Let us pray for the victims of the bombings and let us pray for the bombers.

Robert dillerAlso, today, marks the anniversary of the death of Mr. Robert Diller, the man whose suffering and death inspired so many. Because of his willingness to offer his suffering for the greater good of others, his family and friends were able to raise over $3000 for the seminarians of the Archdiocese in our first year as an organization. These words were written by his daughter today:

“Though I thought I had toiled in vain and for nothing, uselessly, spent my strength, yet my reward is with the Lord…It is too little, he says, for you to be my servant…I will make you a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach the ends of the earth” Isaiah 49:4,6

Two years ago on Monday of Holy week one of the most holy and humble men I knew left this earth. I miss my dad every day, but remember what he taught us. He suffered intensely, and with such a joy. Today I challenge you to tie your sufferings and toils to the cross and be a light to the nations for God just like my dad.

Thank you, Robert, for teaching us what it means to be a disciple of Christ!

Leave a Reply

